Post Top Ad


Thursday, 17 December 2020

6 more mayoral hopefuls file papers in Ambala

Tribune News Service
Ambala, December 16

Six more mayoral candidates filed their nominations on the last date of nominations for the Ambala Municipal Corporation election.

On Wednesday, BJP's candidate Vandana Sharma, Haryana Janchetna Party's (V) Shaktirani Sharma, Bahujan Samaj Party's Jolly and Independent candidates Veena Dhall, Nina Sharma, and Shubhangi filed their respective nominations.

Earlier, HDF candidate Amisha Chawla, Ambala Vikas Manch's Gurmeet Kaur and Congress' Meena Aggarwal had filed their nominations.

Meanwhile, Diksha Rani (21), who wanted to contest from Ward Number 14, sat on a dharna along with her supporters and alleged that while her papers were not accepted because she was 15 minutes late, the nominations of two more candidates were accepted after 3 pm.

Diksha's supporters said that if her nomination was not accepted they would start a hunger strike in front of the Deputy Commissioner's office on Thursday and would make a complaint with the Election Commission.

Meanwhile, HSVP Estate Officer-cum-ARO for Ward Numbers 12, 13 and 14 Satinder Siwach said: "The candidate was late. She reached around 3.27 pm and no nominations can be accepted after the time is over."

from The Tribune

No comments:

Post a comment