Post Top Ad


Wednesday, 23 December 2020

Chandigarh MC panel examines objections, suggestions on proposed wards

Dushyant Singh Pundir

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, December 22

The Delimitation Committee for wards of the Municipal Corporation (MC) today examined the objections and suggestions received against the draft notification issued recently.

An official said the committee was looking into all objections and suggestions received against the proposed wards and would take appropriate decision accordingly.

If found feasible, the objections would be considered and changes made in the proposed wards, he added.

The committee received nearly 180 objections from residents of various areas of the city against the proposed wards.

In an objection filed with the Delimitation Committee, Col Gursewak Singh (retd), president, Residents Welfare Association (RWA), Modern Housing Complex (MHC), submitted that the notification on the delimitation of wards had caused a great deal of anguish and resentment among residents of 3,353 dwelling units of the MHC in Sector 13. It was noticed that the proposed ward was arbitrary, defied logic and was thus rejected by all residents of the MHC, he said.

He said the main objection was that the proposed ward number 4 would be divided into three pockets with no contiguity. Moreover, clubbing of high revenue-generating MHC with far away Basti Kishangarh, having a large number of rural voters, would be counter-productive, he added.

Similar objections were received from other areas also.

On December 9, the Local Government Department had issued a draft notification for delimitation of wards of the MC, increasing the number of wards from the existing 26 to 35.

The department had invited views, comments or suggestions, if any, from the general public and other stakeholders on the draft notification within a period of seven days. The process was necessitated as the MC is going to the polls in December 2021. On the basis of the 2001 census, the last delimitation of wards was held in 2006. However, the next process for delimitation of wards, which was to be held in 2015 on the basis of the 2011 census, could not be conducted as the issue of merger of villages with the MC was still pending.

At present, there are 26 wards in the MC, which include sectors and nine villages. The 13 new villages, which were included in the MC last year only, are: Behlana, Raipur Khurd, Raipur Kalan, Makhan Majra, Daria, Mauli Jagran, Kishangarh, Kaimbwala, Khuda Ali Sher, Khuda Jassu, Khuda Lahora, Sarangpur and Dhanas.

from The Tribune

No comments:

Post a comment